Look here …

 

it’s almost Winter
 
 
 This was our first snow …
 
 quite late for us! 
 
 
The deer hunters are hoping for tracking snow
 
for the start of gun deer hunting season on Monday.
 
   They haven’t called out that Finnlander :
 
“Heiki Lunta ” yet to do his Snow Dance yet.

 

 

 

Winter Now!
by Lois Haglund

Shhoooooooohh…….

Like Quick-silver, the icy breeze slips
thru the trees and across the creek…… 

Now, stopping for a brief encounter 

with a finger or a cheek…..

Now, flittering out in profuse ripples
to chill one’s deepest soul….. 

Summer’s tattered shawl… blown away… as 

Winter blusters in to assume his role…. 

Wait ! The word hangs frozen… suspended…..
Wait ! I’m not ready… not Now, Oh No ! 

Not Ready, to face the interminable days of siege 

With a merciless foe outside my window !

Yes! It’s Time, for the quicksilver blade of a breeze 
To now be an awesome, deadly blow…. 

I Know… and remember Why I fear and I dread,

I Must… I Can… I Know!

 

